William Muhwezi
2 min readFeb 6, 2022

--

Keep In Touch With Your Family (November 2002)

I can see the lash green undulating hills of Kebisoni. I can hear the gentle rapids of River Kacindo. I can see the soccer fields where I played as a child. I can hear the laughter of my siblings.

In two weeks time, I will be in Uganda. I will be seeing my mother and siblings again after thirty three months. I am looking forward to the reunion.

Although I left Uganda twenty one years ago, my heart has never left my family even for a day. They give me a reason to keep living and pursuing my goals in life. So I resolved that I would visit them at least once every two years. It’s not a cheap trip. But you can’t measure love for family in dollars. Its priceless.

So in December my wife, my youngest son and I are going to Uganda. I visualize what it will be like when I arrive. My siblings will be at the airport to meet me and there will be a lot of laughter and joy.

A little problem has cropped up though. My wife’s siblings will be there too to meet her. So our dilemma now is: where are we going to stay when we arrive and where are we going to spend Christmas? This is the first time we are going together for Christmas.

My wife’s siblings have threatened to stage a peaceful demonstration if I take their sister away from them. Last weekend they told me they have placards ready.

I almost convinced Lilly about the merits of spending Christmas at my mother’s until I foolishly mentioned that my sister has vowed to come and spend Christmas with…

--

--

William Muhwezi

A man with a curious mind. Writing about anything that will help you improve at least one aspect of your life.